OSME’s 42nd Annual General Meeting – register now to attend our first online AGM

This year, due to COVID-19, and in line with guidance from the Charity Commission, the OSME Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held online via Zoom.  All members are invited to attend and non-members will be able to view the meeting live via our YouTube channel.  The meeting will start at 10:00am (GMT) on Saturday 28th November and is expected to finish before 11:00am. 

We encourage all members to join us to share their views and participate in Council elections. Our work continues despite lockdown, so there will also be updates from the OSME team about the conservation work we are supporting in the region, all of which is made possible as a result of the continued support of our loyal members.

Attendance is free and will be by registration only; click here to register now.

AGM Programme:

1) Apologies for absence

2) Approval of the minutes of the 41st AGM – available here

3) Matters arising

4) Chairman’s overview of 2019

5) Presentation and adoption of the accounts for 2019  – you can view the annual report on our website

6) Appointment of the accounts examiner for 2020

7) Election of officers – see details below

8) Any other business

9) Chairman’s closing remarks

Vice-Presidents (Elected by Council for a 10-year term)

The following is continuing in office: Dr Nabegh Ghazal Aswad (2013-23).

Dr Melis Charalambides (2010-20) will be ending his term of office at the AGM.

Council Members (Trustees elected for a fixed term)

The following are continuing in office: Robert Sheldon (2009; Chairman 2013–23); Chris Hughes (Joint Treasurer 2012–22); Tomas Haraldsson (2016–21); Nick Moran (2016–21); Paul Stancliffe (2017–22); Mike Blair (2017–22) Sajidah Ahmad (Secretary 2018-23); Georgia Locock (2019-24) and Paul Donald (Sandgrouse Editor 2019-24.) Ian Harrison will be ending his term of office at the AGM but will be continuing as a co-opted Council member.

Currently Co-opted Council Members (appointed by the elected Council)

John Warr (Joint Treasurer & Membership); Effie Warr (Distribution); AbdulRahman Al-Sirhan (Website Manager); Murray Brown.

Nominations: Murray Brown.

Murray is a countryside ranger in Hertfordshire, UK, and has previously worked and volunteered for various conservation organisations, including in visitor experience and community engagement roles with the RSPB. He completed a diploma in ornithology in 2010. Murray’s lifelong passion for birds has meant that he has developed a keen interest in the OSME region through his many trips to the Red Sea to scuba dive.

Further nominations should be sent to the Secretary (e-mail: secretary@osme.org) to arrive as soon as possible and no later than 13 November 2020. Council would be pleased to welcome any members who can assist with maintaining OSME as one of the premier regional bird clubs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *